We are pleased to announce Psi Beta’s 2015-2016 Award Winners!

Ann G. Robinson College Life Award – Spartanburg Methodist College, advisors are Mary Jane Farmer and Sue Onken

Carol Tracy Chapter Community Service Award – Western Virginia Community College, Advisor is Lora Vasiliauskas

Johnson / Cousins Building Bonds Award – San Diego City College, advisor is Kim Sweeney & Psi Chi chapter at San Diego State University, advisor is Allison Vaughn

Virginia Staudt Sexton Faculty Advisor Award – Dr. Lesley Schimanski, Glendale, AZ

Chapter Excellence Awards – 2015-16

  • American River College (Lori Hokerson, Andrea Garvey)
  • Blinn College (Katherine Wickes)
  • Carroll College (Laura Bittner)
  • Cerritos College (Kimberley Duff)
  • Collin College (Jennifer O’Loughlin-Brooks)
  • Irvine Valley College (Kari Tucker-McCorkhill)
  • Lehigh Carbon Community College (Robin Musselman)
  • Lone Star College – University Campus (Cherry Sawyerr)
  • Mount San Antonio College (Stacy Bacigalupi)
  • San Diego City College (Kim Sweeney)
  • San Diego Mesa College (Jaye Van Kirk)
  • Spartanburg Methodist College (Mary Jane Farmer)
  • Stark State Community College (Bryan Gerber)
  • Virginia Western Community College (Lora Vasiliauskas)

Anne Anastasi Research Paper Awards – 2016

Gold Level

1st Mirna Sabbagh, Perceptions, knowledge, and opinions of the transgender community in college, Lehigh Carbon Community College
2nd Alara Blofield, Vagal tone predicting psychophysiological function under conditions of fear, Irvine Valley College
3rd Kristie Soto, Will a Long-Evans rate help his cagemate or choose food instead, Glendale Community College (AZ)

Silver Level

1st Lindi J. Lawson, Grit, social media, and academic achievement within the community college sample, Blinn College
2nd Estrella Serrato, Sunrae Taloma, & Nicole Joy Ledina, Does staring into my eyes cause dissociation? The influence of staring, illumination, and dissociative states, Irvine Valley College
3rd Kayla L. Feinour, The effects of music on memory, Lehigh Carbon Community College

Anne Anastasi APA Conference Scholarship Winners

1st Mirna Sabbagh, Lehigh Carbon Community College
2nd Alara Blofield, Irvine Valley College
3rd Kristie Soto, Glendale Community College (AZ)
4th Lindi J. Lawson, Blinn College

If you are interested in completing in Psi Beta’s 2016-17 award competitions, an overview can be found on the Psi Beta website at http://psibeta.org/site/awards/current-deadlines

Print article Print article